Minutes of the Ponca Public Schools Special Board of Education Meeting March 4, 2020

The Board of Education of Dixon County School District 1 (also known as Ponca Public Schools) held a special meeting on Wednesday, March 4, 2020 in the Ponca Public Schools library at 505 3rd Street, Ponca, Nebraska. The meeting was convened in open and public session and advance notice was publicly posted at the Bank of Dixon County, the Dixon County courthouse, the post office and the school house door, and given to all members of the Board of Education. Availability of the agenda was communicated in the publicized notice and a current copy of the agenda was kept continuously current and available for inspection at the office of the Superintendent of Schools. All proceedings of the Board of Education, except as may be hereinafter noted, were taken while the convened meeting was open to the attendance of the public.

Vice President Burki called the meeting to order at 6:30 p.m., informed the public that a current copy of the Open Meetings Act is posted on the wall of the meeting room, and led the salute to the flag. Roll call was taken and the following members were present: Monte Burki, Richard Dohma, Shawn Fethkenher, John Gill and Phil Kramper. Absent: Kenton Book. Others present were Supt. Jody Phillips, Principal Derek Lahm, Andy Stark, Sec. Lorrie Huston and two visitors.

Gill moved to approve the absence of Kenton Book. Dohma seconded the motion. Voting Aye: Burki, Dohma, Fethkenher, Gill and Kramper. M.C.

There were no requests to speak before the Board.

The resignation of Supt. Jody Phillips was approved on a motion by Dohma, second by Fethkenher. Voting Aye: Burki, Dohma, Fethkenher, Gill and Kramper. Absent: Book. M.C. The Board thanked Supt. Phillips for his service and wished him well in his new position as superintendent of Aurora Public Schools.

Gill made a motion to select the Nebraska Association of School Boards (NASB) as the search firm for the new superintendent. Fethkenher seconded the motion. Voting Aye: Burki, Dohma, Fethkenher, Gill and Kramper. Absent: Book. M.C.

The next regular meeting will be held on Monday, March 16, 2020 at 7:00 p.m.

At 7:03 p.m., there being no further business, Dohma moved to adjourn the meeting. Gill seconded the motion. Voting Aye: Burki, Dohma, Fethkenher, Gill and Kramper. Absent: Book. M.C.

Respectfully submitted,	
Lorrie Huston, Board Secretary	
Kenton Book, Board President	