Minutes of the Ponca Public Schools Board of Education Regular Meeting February 17, 2020

The Board of Education of Dixon County School District 1 (also known as Ponca Public Schools) held a regular meeting on Monday, February 17, 2020 in the Ponca Public Schools library at 505 3rd Street, Ponca, Nebraska. The meeting was convened in open and public session and advance notice was publicly posted at the Bank of Dixon County, the Dixon County courthouse, the post office and the school house door, published in the Nebraska Journal Leader, and given to all members of the Board of Education. Availability of the agenda was communicated in the publicized notice and a current copy of the agenda was kept continuously current and available for inspection at the office of the Superintendent of Schools. All proceedings of the Board of Education, except as may be hereinafter noted, were taken while the convened meeting was open to the attendance of the public.

President Book called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m., informed the public that a current copy of the Open Meetings Act is posted on the wall of the meeting room, and led the salute to the flag. Roll call was taken and the following members were present: Kenton Book, Monte Burki, Richard Dohma, Shawn Fethkenher, John Gill and Phil Kramper. Others present were Supt. Jody Phillips, Principal Derek Lahm, Kristie Hayes, Andy Stark, Sec. Lorrie Huston and four visitors. Principal Hayes was absent due to athletic events.

There were no requests to speak before the Board.

Dohma moved to approve the consent agenda and Burki seconded the motion. Voting Aye: Book, Burki, Dohma, Fethkenher, Gill and Kramper. M.C.U. The consent agenda included approval of the agenda; the minutes of the January 20, 2020 meeting; the treasurer's report showing a general fund balance of \$1,009,824.01, a depreciation fund balance of \$188,654.04, a bond fund balance of \$365,815.53, a special building fund balance of \$279,394.03, an employee benefit fund balance of \$6,081.30, an activity fund balance of \$247,449.32, and a school nutrition fund balance of \$22,941.91; general fund disbursements of \$126,477.23; student fee fund disbursements of \$669.00; credit card payments; and the February payroll report.

Supt. Phillips and Principal Lahm gave the administration reports. Discussion and informational items included the monthly student enrollment report. A discussion was held concerning the possible change to an a cappella choir from the current show/swing choir with Dr. Adam Webb sharing information on the need for the change.

The option enrollment request of a kindergarten student into the District passed on a motion by Dohma, second by Gill. Voting Aye: Book, Burki, Dohma, Fethkenher, Gill and Kramper. M.C.U.

The 2020-21 ESU#1 Special Education Services Contract was approved on a motion by Dohma, second by Burki. Voting Aye: Book, Burki, Dohma, Gill and Kramper. Abstaining (with conflict): Fethkenher. M.C.

The resignation of Paige Green as Head Volleyball Coach was approved on a motion by Burki, second by Fethkenher. Voting Aye: Book, Burki, Dohma, Fethkenher, Gill and Kramper. M.C.U.

Superintendent expenses for the 2020 NASBO conference were approved on a motion by Dohma, second by Gill. Voting Aye: Book, Burki, Dohma, Fethkenher, Gill and Kramper. M.C.U.

Kramper moved to approve the 2020-21 District calendar. Fethkenher seconded the motion. Voting Aye: Book, Burki, Dohma, Fethkenher, Gill and Kramper. M.C.U.

On a motion by Gill and second by Dohma, the preventative maintenance agreement with Suter services was approved for the Jackson HVAC system. Voting Aye: Book, Burki, Dohma, Fethkenher, Gill and Kramper. M.C.U.

Gill moved to approve the payment of the 2020-21 Nebraska Association of School Boards annual membership and dues. Burki seconded the motion. Voting Aye: Book, Burki, Fethkenher, Gill and Kramper. Abstaining (with conflict): Dohma. M.C.

The next regular meeting will be held on Monday, March 16, 2020 at 7:00 p.m.

At 6:54 p.m., there being no further business, Kramper moved to adjourn the meeting. Fethkenher seconded the motion. Voting Aye: Book, Burki, Dohma, Fethkenher, Gill and Kramper. M.C.U.

Respectfully submitted,	
Lorrie Huston, Board Secretary	_
Kenton Book, Board President	_