## Minutes of the Ponca Public Schools Board of Education Regular Meeting August 21, 2023

Posting Date: August 10, 2023

The Board of Education of Dixon County School District 1 (also known as Ponca Public Schools) held a regular meeting on Monday, August 21, 2023 in the Ponca Public Schools library at 505 3<sup>rd</sup> Street, Ponca, Nebraska. The meeting was convened in open and public session and advance notice was publicly posted at the Bank of Dixon County, the Dixon County Courthouse, the post office, the school main entrance, published in the Nebraska Journal Leader, and given to all members of the Board of Education. Availability of the agenda was communicated in the publicized notice and a current copy of the agenda was kept continuously current and available for inspection at the office of the Superintendent of Schools. All proceedings of the Board of Education, except as may be hereinafter noted, were taken while the convened meeting was open to the attendance of the public.

President Fethkenher called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m., informed the public that a current copy of the Open Meetings Act is posted on the wall of the meeting room, and led the salute to the flag. Roll was taken. Members present were Monte Burki, Richard Dohma, Shawn Fethkenher, Phil Kramper, Christina Luebe and Casey McGhee. Others present were Supt. Brendan Calahan, Principal Allison Stansberry, Principal Bob Hayes, Kristie Hayes, Andy Stark, Secretary Lorrie Huston, and 3 visitors.

There were no requests to speak before the Board.

Luebe moved to approve the consent agenda and McGhee seconded the motion. Voting Yea: Burki, Dohma, Fethkenher, Kramper, Luebe and McGhee. M.C.U. The consent agenda included approval of the agenda; the minutes of the July 17, 2023 meeting; the treasurer's report showing a general fund balance of \$3,316,321.82, a depreciation fund balance of \$154,566.41, a bond fund balance of \$686,718.10, a special building fund balance of \$167,428.78, an employee benefit fund balance of \$9,036.58, an activity fund balance of \$261,246.13, and a school nutrition fund balance of \$122,204.52; general fund disbursements of \$486,606.64; building fund disbursements of \$110,521.25; depreciation fund disbursements of \$9,273.00; credit card payments; and the August payroll report.

## Administrative Reports:

Superintendent Calahan – Updates on summer facilities improvement projects, plan for flood mitigation, valuation increases, finance committee budget meeting, and upcoming conference and meeting dates.

Principal Stansberry – Information on the 23-24 school year theme, PLC professional development and Guiding Coalition plans, book study progress, PLCs at Work Summit in October, assessments, open house night and the first day of school.

Principal/Athletic Director Hayes – Reported on the number of Pre-K and Kindergarten students, meet and greet night, field trips to the EXPO and Ag Festival, hearing checks, the schedules for MAPS and STAR testing, number of participants in fall sports, softball and volleyball jamboree games, and the heat precautions for athletic schedules. The printed reports are on file.

There were no Board communications or committee reports.

## Discussion Items:

Superintendent Calahan discussed the current classified staff job openings for the district.

Action Items:

The NSAA football classification will remain as assigned. There was no motion to change it at this time.

Dohma moved to approve the payment of the ALICAP insurance premium for the 23-24 school year. Burki seconded the motion. Voting Yea: Burki, Dohma, Fethkenher, Kramper, Luebe and McGhee. M.C.U.

Burki moved to accept the bid from Gill Construction for the flood mitigation project. Luebe seconded the motion. Voting Yea: Burki, Dohma, Fethkenher, Kramper, Luebe and McGhee. M.C.U

The next regular board meeting will be held on September 18, 2023 at 7:00 p.m.

At 7:58 p.m., there being no further business, McGhee moved to adjourn the meeting. Dohma seconded the motion. Voting Yea: Burki, Dohma, Fethkenher, Kramper, Luebe and McGhee. M.C.U

Respectively submitted:

Shawn Fethkenher, Board President

Lorrie Huston, Board Secretary